Black Mirror: Season 4 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Black Mirror: Season 4 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 29, 2018
Perhaps the new direction appeals to wider audience and is more to the liking of technological optimists, but it also threaten to turn the series into a predictable and irrelevant product. I hope Booker recovers his teeth. [Full Review in Spanish]
January 3, 2018
The sole twist Black Mirror presents to this oldest of human yarns is the addition of a hell to cyberspace's heaven.
December 6, 2017
With the arrival of a new, disappointing crop of episodes, it seems the one thing Black Mirror might not be able to weather is its own melodramatic sensibilities.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 29, 2017
If the show wants to position itself as entirely of the moment, it has more work to do in meeting its viewers where they are, at a place where concern over what we're doing to each other extends beyond implanted brain-modification technologies.
January 8, 2018
... there are moments that instead of being terrifying, sound a bit moralistic. [Full review in Spanish]
December 26, 2017
Either Black Mirror has become more obviously manipulative, or 2017 has made me unable to appreciate the manipulation; in any case, I had to grit my teeth to get through Black Mirror.
December 26, 2017
Season four has only one real high, and it's somewhat telling that it's the episode that feels the least like a chapter of Black Mirror.
December 29, 2017
Black Mirror has wowed viewers with its Twilight Zone-esque stories of parallel universes and make-believe societies - but Season 4's "U.S.S. Callister" episode of the Netflix series strikes an uncomfortably prescient chord.
December 29, 2017
The reality is virtual, but the stakes are real-because this is Black Mirror, and we've seen how dark the show can get.
January 4, 2018
[USS Callister] cements Black Mirror as a show which understands video games in a way that few others do.
December 29, 2017
It also leans into horror by exploring the dark underbelly of fan obsession: What was intended as a therapeutic escape becomes a corrupt addiction.
December 29, 2017
USS Callister is proof there's room for Black Mirror's concept to grow - boldly going where the show hasn't gone before with truly spectacular results.
January 17, 2018
My favorite of the season, "USS Callister" represents the full range of what Black Mirror can be: twisty, dark and humorous with real-world implications.
January 5, 2018
In an age of paranoia, dislocation, and the increasing sense that we belong to our devices instead of vice versa, Black Mirror is essential viewing.
December 8, 2017
This season is again a masterpiece of dark, flashy foreboding and Brooker has lost nothing, except possibly any shred of hope for the future of humanity, as he again plumbs the deepest concerns of our modern age.
December 29, 2017
"USS Callister" wraps a stunning premise around an equally stunning narrative - something not all Black Mirror episodes manage to achieve.
December 29, 2017
If anything, Black Mirror excels more when it's The Love Boat instead of The Twilight Zone.
December 29, 2017
As is suggested in [Season 4,] it is possible for love and humanity to prevail, and thrilling when they do -- it's not a betrayal of "serious" storytelling to let the light in occasionally.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 22, 2017
An astonishing, superlative piece of work in every respect.
December 22, 2017
Black Mirror implicates both human ignorance and malevolence as enablers of a technological dystopia.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 5