American Vandal: Season 1 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

American Vandal: Season 1 Reviews

October 11, 2017
American Vandal has a wildly variable tone that feels truer to the drastic, giddy emotional swings of teenhood, and especially by the end of the series, it rubs dizzy absurdity right up against intense, long-simmering pain.
October 2, 2017
American Vandal is a starkly effective takeoff of the increasingly blurry line between filmmaker and investigator, chronicler and active participant.
September 25, 2017
... as an examination of today's teen culture, it's surprisingly perceptive.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
September 20, 2017
There is a lot of dumb humour in the series but it is far from brainless. It mocks in order to highlight how viewers are manipulated by seemingly benign techniques.
September 15, 2017
After the first two or three episodes, I wouldn't say I cared about the characters in this pretend documentary. But so help me, I actually felt invested in knowing, beyond a reasonable doubt, who did the dicks.
September 14, 2017
Few shows I've seen catch high school society, with its self-contained seriousness, as well as American Vandal does, as well as the mix of innocence and experience, confusion and certitude that mark that age.
September 14, 2017
If you're a true fan of the genre being sent up, a lot of this will be pure delight; if you're not, it's likely to seem broad and more than a little pointless. But you can't fault the execution.
September 13, 2017
Don't expect a lot of out-loud laughs with the series, but it is constantly amusing. You may never look at a true crime documentary the same way again.
September 10, 2017
American Vandal works best because of all the pleasurable ways you don't see it coming.
September 1, 2017
American Vandal frolics through the Docuseries Uncanny Valley and comes out the other side with a loving appreciation of everything that makes these stories so captivating and culturally iconic.
Full Review | Original Score: A